

*Chair* Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 Sen.mary.kunesh@senate.mn

*Vice Chair* Heather Gustafson

**Ranking Minority Member** Jason Rarick

#### Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

## **Committee Staff:**

*Committee Administrator* Danna Elling (651) 296-4175 Danna.elling@senate.mn

### Committee Legislative Assistant

Sami Rajab 651-296-4334 Sami.rajab@senate.mn

Research

Ryan Majerus (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

*Legislative Analyst* Bettsy Hjelseth

*Fiscal Analyst* Jenna Hofer

# **Minnesota Education Finance Committee**

Wednesday, March 29th, 2023 9:00 a.m. Room 1150

# Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Overview S.F. 2684 Kunesh Funding provision for prekindergarten through grade 12 education
- 3. Willie Jett, Commissioner of MDE (In-person)
- 4. Angie Jerabek, Counselor, Founder and Executive Director of BARR Center (In-Person)
- 5. Cat Briggs, Bus Driver District 196 (in-person)
- 6. Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota (in-person)
- 7. Dianne Krizan, Minnesota Children's Museum (in-person)
- 8. Laura Mogelson, MN Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (inperson)
- 9. Paul Bourgeois, Executive Director of Finance, Minnetonka Public Schools
- 10. Amy Walstien, Senior Policy Director, MN Business Partnership (in-person)
- 11. Deb Henton, MN Association of School Administrators (in-person)
- 12. Robert Osburn, Wilberforce International Institute, (in-person)
- 13. Ericca Maas, Think Small (in-person)
- 14. Brad Jensen, President, Minnesota Association of Alternative Programs (MAAP) (remote)
- 15. Calandrian Kemp, State Policy Director, Sandy Hook Promise(remote)
- Stacey Vanderport, Teacher, Mounds View Public Schools,
  President, Mounds View Education Association (in-person)
  Sean Burke, ISAIAH MN/Kids Count on Us (in-person)
  Paul Spies, Legislative Action Team Lead
  Minnesota Education Finance Committee

Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday Room 1150 8:30 am – 10:30 am

- 19. Scott Croonquist, Ass. of Metropolitan School Districts (in-person)
- 20. Jessica Lopez Martinez, Student, Richfield High School (in-person)
- 21. Jeff Tollefson, Minnesota Technology Association (in-person)
- 22. Liz Lynch, MN Library Association (Remote)
- 23. Keem Anderson, Ignite Afterschool Network (In-person)
- 24. Jim Grathwol (in-person)
- 25. Kimberley Dunn Lewis, MN School Boards Association (in-person)
- 26. Roger Aronson (In-person)
- 27. Matt Shaver, EdAllies (In-person)
- 28. Malachi Johnson, on the Teacher of Color executive board, (remote)
- 29. Emilia Kalscheur, Special Education Teacher, (remote)
- 30. Adjournment

**Minnesota Education Finance Committee**